End of 2023 Beginning of 2024

  • Date: 02/15/2024
  • Mood: Sleepy
  • Time: Evening
  • Extra: N/A

2024 Site Goals:

Now that 2023 has wrapped up and 2024 has begun, I found it to be a good time to return to my site and pick up coding again. During this endeavor I decided to re-do my entire layout, which was fun, not to mention intensive. As I've been relearning HTML and CSS as well as trying to make more time for coding as school starts up again, I've set a few personal goals for my site.

  1. Continue to progress in HTML/CSS: As I was working towards making my site a bit more accessible and understanding web accessibility as a whole, I learned a lot about HTML/CSS that I had no reason to learn when I was just making things work (by any means necessary). I think re-doing my layout and making goals for it to be more accessible gave me a really good opportunity to challenge myself to actually learn the ins and outs of what I'm doing, and not just doing what is easiest. While I still have a long ways to go in terms of both accessibility and HTML, this has opened a new path for me in webweaving!

  2. Learn JS (and keep working through git!): While I was re-doing my layout, I implemented more JS than was in my last layout. Throughout adding my in-site guestbook, making a microblog with Bechnokid's StatusCafe feed reader, and attempting (and failing) to set up button based freezeframe js (for those who don't know its a script that freezes GIFs!), I realized "holy shit I know nothing about script! And worse! Seems like it would be extremely useful! Uh oh!" So to put it shortly, I need to study up on JS, even if looking at script sheets is super intimidating! I hope to start on the W3schools tutorial pretty soon and hopefully that leads me down the right path!

  3. Journal and use my media log: This one is simultaneously a very personal goal (I have got to read outside of school more! Should actually start finishing books!) and a goal that has to do with my site. To start, journaling is something that my therapist has been suggesting I do for quite a while now. While I doubt I'm going to journal the exact way she wants (I don't think it's a great idea to post that kind of stuff online!), I think jogging through my thoughts, even if they aren't super deep, personal, or pressing, is a good way for me to slow down. I seem to find my mind racing often, and not even in an anxious way! I just have lots of ideas, so maybe thoughtfully writing them down will help me engage with them better and make my trivial thoughts less overwhelming (I get inspired and can't sleep oopsies). In regards to logging media I read/watch/play, I hope to do a similar thing. I think a goal that doesn't reeeaally have to do with my site is to improve at articulating my thoughts! While, as I stated, this doesn't have much to do w webweaving, I do think my site is a great place to practice it!

  4. Set mini goals, write down inspiration, but try not to get overwhelmed: Somewhat based on using my journal and writing goals down now, I want to try and better catalog web pages I like, what I like about them, and ways they inspire my own site. When I first made Furbee, I felt like I had no direction and no real goal of what I wanted to do, but now I’m swamped with things I want to add and new layout ideas! Whenever I browse neocities and let links take me on web adventures, I find many different sites that are so engaging and inspiring that I get the urge to completely overhaul my page! While it’s better than lacking direction, it is quite overwhelming in its own right. For now, I’m gonna try and write down a couple things I want to add to my site and put my mind towards just a few things lol. I already have a to-do list on my main page, but here, take another, slightly altered, one:

    • Make a media log with music on repeat, books/essays read, movies/shows watched, and maybe video essays! We shall see!
    • Collage of things that I feel represent me. Furbee-core, if you will.
    • Make a digital scrapbook of things from the month (inspired by hillhouse's scrapbook!).
    • Photo diary (use EXIF scrambler and JS gallery).
    • Maybe add an art gallery as well. I haven’t been drawing much nor do I feel particularly proud of my art :(, but I still think it’s a nice thing to add!
    • Make a splash page!
    • Virtual Pet game shrine! Been working on compiling tidbits from old virtual pet games I used to play!
    • Work on my journal page a little more.

A Couple Personal 2024 Goals:
I already ended up touching on these (can't be helped) so I thought I'd include a couple more, if only for my sake! These probably won't be as thorough as my site goals, however writing thoughts down is something I hope to do more of!

  • Complete my daily drawing exercises, like, daily: I've been doing draw-a-box and am currently on the stage of its namesake (drawing so many boxes)! I've been pretty inconsistent with it and as drawing is something I want to improve at and do more of, I ought to work on my fundamentals (and not just think about improving lol).
  • Try and be mindful about my consumption: Write down things I’ve wanted for a while or notice I am actually in need of (i.e. no impulse purchasing). I want to try and sit on consumer decisions and really think about whether I need something or am just following trends that I’m frankly not all that into past the initial rose tint.
  • Mind the hating: I have got to spend less time hate reading things on social media platforms. Even if I do enjoy being angry, it isn't great for me and generally makes me unpleasant to be around.